Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee

Program Chair

Ana Fred
Instituto de Telecomunicações and University of Lisbon

Brief Bio
Ana Fred received the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical and Computer Engineering, in 1989 and 1994, respectively, both from Instituto Superior Técnico (IST), Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal. She is a Faculty Member of IST since 1986, where she has been a professor with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and more recently with the Department of Biomedical Engineering. She is a researcher at the Pattern and Image Analysis Group of the Instituto de Telecomunicações. Her main research areas are on pattern recognition, both structural and statistical approaches, with application to data mining, learning systems, behavioral biometrics, and biomedical applications. She has done pioneering work on clustering, namely on cluster ensemble approaches. Recent work on biosensors hardware (including BITalino – and ECG-based biometrics (Vitalidi project) have been object of several nacional and internacional awards, as well as wide dissemination on international media, constituting a success story of knowledge transfer from research to market. She has published over 160 papers in international refereed conferences, peer reviewed journals, and book chapters. ... More >>


Sherief Abdallah, British University in Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Muhammad Abulaish, South Asian University, India
Samad Ahmadi, De Montfort University, United Kingdom
Maria Aramburu Cabo, University Jaume I, Spain
Eva Armengol, IIIA CSIC, Spain
Zeyar Aung, Masdar Institute of Science and Technology, United Arab Emirates
Márcio Basgalupp, Universidade Federal de São Paulo, Brazil
Rafael Berlanga Llavori, University Jaume I, Spain
Isabelle Bichindaritz, SUNY at Oswego, United States
Marc Boullé, Orange Labs, France
Keith Chan, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
Meng Chen, Academia Sinica, Taiwan, Republic of China
Shu-Ching Chen, Florida International University, United States
Philipp Cimiano, University of Bielefeld, Germany
Jerome Darmont, Universite de Lyon, France
Luis M. de Campos, University of Granada, Spain
Emanuele Di Buccio, University of Padua, Italy
Giorgio Maria Di Nunzio, Università degli Studi di Padova, Italy
Marcos Domingues, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil
Dejing Dou, University of Oregon, United States
Antoine Doucet, University of La Rochelle, France
Habiba Drias, USTHB, LRIA, Algeria
Tapio Elomaa, Tampere University, Finland
Iaakov Exman, The Jerusalem College of Engineering - JCE - Azrieli, Israel
Philippe Fournier-Viger, University of Moncton, Canada
Susan Gauch, University of Arkansas, United States
Rosalba Giugno, University of Catania, Italy
Nuno Gonçalves, Superior School of Technology, Polithecnical Institute of Setúbal, Portugal
Daniel Gruhl, IBM Almaden Research Center, United States
Antonella Guzzo, University of Calabria, Italy
Yaakov Hacohen-Kerner, Jerusalem College of Technology (Machon Lev), Israel
Greg Hamerly, Baylor University, United States
José Hernández-Orallo, Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain
Enrique Herrera-Viedma, University of Granada, Spain
Beatriz de la Iglesia, University of East Anglia, United Kingdom
Szymon Jaroszewicz, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland
Mouna Kamel, IRIT, France
Ron Kenett, Samuel Neaman Institute, Technion, Israel
Hagen Langer, University of Bremen, Germany
Anne Laurent, Lirmm, Montpellier University, France
Carson Leung, University of Manitoba, Canada
Jiexun Li, Drexel University, United States
Xiaoli Li, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Xia Lin, Drexel University, United States
Berenike Litz, Attensity Corporation, United States
Juan Manuel Corchado, University of Salamanca, Spain
Francisco Martínez Álvarez, Pablo de Olavide University of Seville, Spain
Edson Matsubara, UFMS, Brazil
Misael Mongiovi, Università di Catania, Italy
Stefania Montani, Piemonte Orientale University, Italy
Manuel Montes y Gómez, INAOE, Mexico
Henning Müller, University of Applied Sciences Western Switzerland, Switzerland
Engelbert Nguifo, LIMOS, Université Clermont Auvergne, France
Mitsunori Ogihara, University of Miami, United States
Fabrício Olivetti de França, Universidade Federal do ABC, Brazil
Krzysztof Pancerz, University of Rzeszow, Poland
Luigi Pontieri, National Research Council (CNR), Italy
Francois Poulet, University of Rennes 1 - IRISA, France
Ronaldo Prati, Universidade Federal do ABC, Brazil
Alfredo Pulvirenti, University of Catania, Italy
Marcos Quiles, Federal University of Sao Paulo - UNIFESP, Brazil
Bijan Raahemi, University of Ottawa, Canada
Zbigniew Ras, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, United States
Fabio Rinaldi, University of Zurich, Switzerland
Ovidio Salvetti, National Research Council of Italy - CNR, Italy
Filippo Sciarrone, Roma TRE University, Italy
Fabricio Silva, FIOCRUZ - Fundação Oswaldo Cruz, Brazil
Dominik Slezak, Infobright, Poland
Marcin Sydow, IPI PAN (and PJIIT), Warsaw, Poland
Andrea Tagarelli, University of Calabria, Italy
Moritz Tenorth, Universität Bremen, Germany
Andrew Teoh, Yonsei University, Korea, Republic of
Ulrich Thiel, Fraunhofer Gesellschaft, Germany
Kar Toh, Yonsei University, Korea, Republic of
Yannick Toussaint, INRIA, France
Alicia Troncoso Lora, Pablo de Olavide University of Seville, Spain
Domenico Ursino, Università Politecnica delle Marche, Italy
Sebastian Wandelt, Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, Germany
Yang Xiang, The Ohio State University, United States
Jierui Xie, Samsung R&D Center, United States
JingTao Yao, University of Regina, Canada