Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee

Program Chair

Ana Fred
Instituto de Telecomunicações and University of Lisbon

Brief Bio
Ana Fred received the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical and Computer Engineering, in 1989 and 1994, respectively, both from Instituto Superior Técnico (IST), Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal. She is a Faculty Member of IST since 1986, where she has been a professor with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and more recently with the Department of Biomedical Engineering. She is a researcher at the Pattern and Image Analysis Group of the Instituto de Telecomunicações. Her main research areas are on pattern recognition, both structural and statistical approaches, with application to data mining, learning systems, behavioral biometrics, and biomedical applications. She has done pioneering work on clustering, namely on cluster ensemble approaches. Recent work on biosensors hardware (including BITalino – and ECG-based biometrics (Vitalidi project) have been object of several nacional and internacional awards, as well as wide dissemination on international media, constituting a success story of knowledge transfer from research to market. She has published over 160 papers in international refereed conferences, peer reviewed journals, and book chapters. ... More >>


A. A.li, Central Queensland University, Australia
Muhammad Abulaish, South Asian University, India
Samad Ahmadi, De Montfort University, United Kingdom
Maria Aramburu Cabo, University Jaume I, Spain
Eva Armengol, IIIA CSIC, Spain
Daniel Barbará, George Mason University, United States
Rafael Berlanga Llavori, University Jaume I, Spain
Florian Boudin, Universite de Nantes, France
Marc Boullé, Orange Labs, France
Rui Camacho, Faculdade de Engenharia da Universidade do Porto, Portugal
Keith Chan, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
Meng Chen, Academia Sinica, Taiwan, Republic of China
Juan Corchado, University of Salamanca, Spain
Jerome Darmont, Universite de Lyon, France
Luis M. de Campos, University of Granada, Spain
Spiros Denaxas, University College London, United Kingdom
Marie-Dominique Devignes, LORIA CNRS-UMR 7503, France
Giorgio Maria Di Nunzio, Università degli Studi di Padova, Italy
Dejing Dou, University of Oregon, United States
Antoine Doucet, University of La Rochelle, France
Floriana Esposito, Università degli Studi di Bari "Aldo Moro", Italy
Iaakov Exman, The Jerusalem College of Engineering - JCE - Azrieli, Israel
Katti Facelli, UFSCAR, Brazil
Philippe Fournier-Viger, University of Moncton, Canada
Susan Gauch, University of Arkansas, United States
Nuno Gonçalves, Superior School of Technology, Polithecnical Institute of Setúbal, Portugal
Antonella Guzzo, University of Calabria, Italy
Yaakov Hacohen-Kerner, Jerusalem College of Technology (Machon Lev), Israel
Greg Hamerly, Baylor University, United States
Jianchao Han, California State University Dominguez Hills, United States
José Hernández-Orallo, Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain
Estevam Hruschka Jr., Federal UNiversity of São Carlos, Brazil
Yo-Ping Huang, National Taipei University of Technology, Taiwan, Republic of China
Kaizhu Huang, Xi'an Jiaotong-Liverpool University, China
Beatriz de la Iglesia, University of East Anglia, United Kingdom
Szymon Jaroszewicz, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland
Liu Jing, Xidian University, China
Mouna Kamel, IRIT, France
Rajkumar Kannan, Bishop Heber College, India
Mehmed Kantardzic, University of Louisville, United States
Ron Kenett, KPA and the Samuel Neaman Institute, Technion, Israel
Steven Kraines, The University of Tokyo, Japan
Hagen Langer, University of Bremen, Germany
Anne Laurent, Lirmm, Montpellier University, France
Carson Leung, University of Manitoba, Canada
Chun Li, Hong Kong Baptist University, Hong Kong
Xia Lin, Drexel University, United States
Berenike Litz, Attensity Corporation, United States
Jun Liu, University of Ulster, United Kingdom
Francisco Martínez Álvarez, Pablo de Olavide University of Seville, Spain
Edson Matsubara, UFMS, Brazil
Paul McNamee, Johns Hopkins University, United States
Misael Mongiovi, Università di Catania, Italy
Stefania Montani, Piemonte Orientale University, Italy
Pierre Morizet-Mahoudeaux, University of Technology of Compiegne, France
Henning Müller, University of Applied Sciences Western Switzerland, Switzerland
Mitsunori Ogihara, University of Miami, United States
Byung-Won On, Seoul National University, Korea, Republic of
Luigi Pontieri, National Research Council (CNR), Italy
Francois Poulet, University of Rennes 1 - IRISA, France
Ronaldo Prati, Universidade Federal do ABC, Brazil
Marcos Quiles, Federal University of Sao Paulo - UNIFESP, Brazil
Zbigniew Ras, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, United States
Luís Reis, University of Porto, Portugal
Eduarda Rodrigues, Universidade do Porto, Portugal
Arun Ross, Michigan State University, United States
Henryk Rybinski, Warsaw University of Technology, Poland
Ovidio Salvetti, National Research Council of Italy - CNR, Italy
Paul Schmidt, Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Angewandten Informationsforschung, Germany
Filippo Sciarrone, Roma TRE University, Italy
Fabricio Silva, FIOCRUZ - Fundação Oswaldo Cruz, Brazil
Dominik Slezak, Infobright, Poland
Manas Somaiya, eBay Inc., United States
Marcin Sydow, IPI PAN (and PJIIT), Warsaw, Poland
Kosuke Takano, Kanagawa Institute of Technology, Japan
Ying Tan, Peking University, China
Andrew Teoh, Yonsei University, Korea, Republic of
Ulrich Thiel, Fraunhofer Gesellschaft, Germany
Kar Toh, Yonsei University, Korea, Republic of
Yannick Toussaint, INRIA, France
Alicia Troncoso Lora, Pablo de Olavide University of Seville, Spain
Panagiotis Tsaparas, University of Ioannina, Greece
Evelyne Tzoukermann, The MITRE Corporation, United States
Joaquin Vanschoren, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
Jeen-Shing Wang, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan, Republic of China
Yang Xiang, The Ohio State University, United States
Yiyu Yao, University of Regina, Canada
Daoqiang Zhang, Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, China
Yonggang Zhang, Ingenuity Systems Inc., United States